Emily’s Big Book List

Well it’s safe to say I’m a collector of things. Basically everyone in my life thinks that I am a hoarder but seriously believe me when I say I’m not. I enjoy collecting things and then I get bored and so I stop. Since the beginning of my relationship I have been saving corks from wine bottles. Originally it was for a craft project, that I never did so now I have a million corks in case anyone needs them! Haha anyways the point of all of this is I have also been collecting books over the years. I literally buy them so fast I don’t have time to read them! Here are a few of the books I’ve collected over the years but haven’t gotten around to reading quite yet…

books

1. How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie – A perfect book for young professionals to read when starting your career. Officer tips and advice on creating lasting relationships in all aspects of your life, not only in the workplace. Kyle highly recommends this book to basically every person he meets. Hence the bet taking place.

2.The Thank You Economy by Gary Vaynerchuk – I have heard amazing things about this book. I can’t remember how I got the recommendation, it might have been from a TedTalk I watched once. Anyways, it explains the changes currently happening in business and what we need to do about it. It represents a culture shift and how brands need to shift. I found it interesting because of my career path in retail, this seems very relevant on how brands needs to be humanized.

3. Bossypants by Tina Fey – I started reading this a couple months ago on vacation and found myself laughing hysterically while on an airplane. I wouldn’t have been half as embarrassed except I was reading it on my Kindle and well no one knew what I was laughing at.  I read an interview from Sheryl Sandberg (forever obsessed with her) and she was asked what books she read recently, she said “I absolutely loved Tina Fey’s “Bossypants” and didn’t want it to end. It’s hilarious as well as important. Not only did I laugh on every page, but I was nodding along, highlighting and dog-earing like crazy. On Page 3, she offers amazing advice to women in the workplace: “No pigtails, no tube tops. Cry sparingly. (Some people say, ‘Never let them see you cry.’ I say, if you’re so mad you could just cry, then cry. It terrifies everyone.)” It is so, so good. As a young girl, I was labeled bossy, too, so as a former — O.K., current — bossypants, I am grateful to Tina for being outspoken, unapologetic and hysterically funny.” So I immediately bought it, obviously.

4. uncharted terriTORI by Tori Spelling – Don’t knock it until you read her first two books! I have always loved Tori Spelling and enjoyed reading her books. I just haven’t had time to pick up the third and the fourth book. I mean she has written so many books over the years, and people keep buying them, isn’t that a sign? She offers great advice in the first books so I can only imagine this book does as well. Plus nothing is better than an honest celebrity. Love!

5. Ask For It: How Women Can Use the Power of Negotiation to Get What They Really Want by Linda Babcock and Sara Laschever – I was feeling in quite a rut a couple years ago trying to find a job before graduation and wanting to read something inspiring. I came across a list of books every young woman should read, this book and the next were on it. A book that reveals how much women lose when avoiding negotiation. I knew I couldn’t let that happen to me.

6. How Remarkable Women Lead: The Breakthrough Model for Work and Life by Joanna Barsh and Susie Cranston – Even though I want a family one day more than anything I don’t think I want to give up my career. So I thought why not read as much as I can about women who have successfully had a family, a loving marriage, and a kick ass career. Not only is it exciting but so damn motivating.

2 thoughts on “Emily’s Big Book List

Leave a Reply

